Waskaganish

Waskaganish

Contact

70, Waskaganish Road
Waskaganish
J0M 1R0
819 895-8650, poste/ext. 3237
819 895-8901


Visit the website

Cities

The community, whose original name was Fort Charles, was founded in 1668. It was shortly thereafter re-named "La Maison de Rupert". In fact, this community owes its name to the fur trade, as Waskaganish is the Cree word meaning “Little House“.

The area is renowned for the number of mighty rivers that converge on this part of James bay, which at the same time hosts one of the most important bird migration routes. The river is the site of an important annual event, where families gather at the Smokey Hill rapids on the Rivière Rupert to fish for sea run white fish. Visitors can observe traditional fishing practices and sample smoked fish prepared on-site. A true local delicacy!

Nature and photography enthusiasts will find an abundance of subjects, such as the famous sunset over the James bay. Make sure to bring your camera to capture this magical moment!

Population 2621

Subscribe to our newsletter
Follow us